Can a man write about Femininity?

Posted: October 31, 2013 in Experience & Identity
Tags:

I think I am part of the problem and the solution so maybe I have no choice. We live in a society that is not equal – perhaps this is one of the most important things I have learnt on the course so far. But what I am also beginning to realise is the role media plays in this inequality. I do think my thoughts and beliefs are limited to the fact that I am a man – I can support and agree with feminism and I can show this but I really don’t think I can truly understand it. How can I? I can learn about gender and identity and the four waves of feminism but I can’t really experience the difficulties women face on a day to day basis. As a man I still get confused though! Having just read Coy and Garner (2010) ‘Glamour Modelling and the marketing of self-sexualisation’ I realise that I am not alone in thinking that there is a mixed message here. As Cathy Rosario writes:
“While dividing feminism into four waves provides a degree of clarity, the reality is that when you have a movement that makes a claim to speak for half the human population, cramming it into a nutshell is always going to be difficult and offer only a partial view.” ‘Waving not Drowning: the Four Waves of Feminism, (2012).

images

Thinking about it, I’m not sure I am the problem – perhaps the biggest problem feminists face is other women. Katie Price states she is a feminist – now there’s a mixed message if ever I head one. All I can do is continue to believe that men and women are equal and that their differences should be celebrated. As a man though, it is easy to fall into the trap of ‘coming to the aid of the feminists’

It is the idea that women need men’s’ help to fight their battle against other men (and dare I say, against other women) that probably concerns me the most. So in answer to the question that I started with – ‘Can a man write about feminism?’ the answer is yes! But can a man be a feminist I think I have to say no. I can support the cause and be part of the movement but for a man to be a feminist almost takes their fight away from them. I am part of this unequal society and I am part of the media culture. I have to support feminism because when I think about it – I might need the feminists help one day when the tables are turned and I find myself fighting the battle of masculism

Comments
  1. […] Can a man write about Femininity? (samhopton.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

